Wales politics

Hain and Murphy sworn in as peers

Lord Hain and Lord Murphy
Image caption Lord Hain (left) and Lord Murphy

Two former Labour Welsh secretaries - Peter Hain and Paul Murphy - have taken their seats in the House of Lords.

Ex-Neath MP Lord Hain was flanked by former Labour leader Lord Kinnock and frontbencher Baroness Morgan of Ely as he swore allegiance to the Queen.

Lord Murphy of Torfaen, the area's former MP, was flanked by Lord Touhig and Lord McFall of Alcluith for the introduction ceremony.

Lord Hain and Lord Murphy were amongst 45 new peers announced in August.

Related Topics

More on this story