22 Roman Catholic churches to close across north Wales

Our Lady and St James Catholic Church, Bangor Image copyright Eric Jones/Geograph
Image caption Our Lady and St James Catholic Church, Bangor, will merge with St Helen in Caernarfon

More than 20 Roman Catholic churches across north Wales are set to close as part of a major reorganisation.

Bishop Peter Brignall, of the Wrexham Diocese, plans to shut 22 out of the current 62 Catholic churches by 2020.

The measures, outlined in a letter, are due to a fall in under-retirement-age priests, he said. Some churches would close "within weeks".

Bishop Brignall added parishes may find the plans "shocking" but stressed it was a "huge opportunity for renewal".

Churches and parishes would be closed or amalgamated in Wrexham, Flint, Rhyl, Dolgellau, Caernarfon and Colwyn Bay deaneries.

Sunday Mass would also be scrapped at a number of churches while mass times are expected to change at others.

Bishop Brignall said he would hold a final Mass of thanksgiving in each church earmarked for closure.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites