Ynys Mon by-election: Six names put forward for poll

Menai Bridge, Anglesey
Image caption The poll on Anglesey is the third assembly by-election since the institution was created in 1999

Nominations for the Welsh assembly by-election in Ynys Mon have closed.

The candidates are Labour's Tal Michael, Rhun ap Iorwerth for Plaid Cymru, Conservative Neil Fairlamb, Liberal Democrat Steve Churchman, Socialist Labour Party's Kathrine Jones and UKIP's Nathan Gill.

The election, on 1 August, follows former Plaid Cymru leader Ieuan Wyn Jones's decision to stand down.

It is the the first by-election for an assembly seat for seven years.

Mr Jones resigned as AM for Ynys Mon in June to lead the new Menai Science Park.

More on this story