Tayside and Central Scotland

First new Katie Morag book in seven years released

Katie Morag book launch Image copyright Alan Richardson
Image caption Mairi Hedderwick read extracts from the new Katie Morag book while opening a nursery in Dundee

The first new Katie Morag book for seven years has been released.

Author and illustrator Dr Mairi C Hedderwick unveiled the new collection of children's stories as she opened a new £1m nursery in Dundee.

She read excerpts from stories to children at the new Mary Lily Walker Nursery at the High School of Dundee.

The Katie Morag Treasury is the 15th book in the Katie Morag series, which has also been adapted as a CBeebies TV programme.

The book features a collection of the most popular adventures of the red-headed girl from the Isle of Struay, as well as six folk tales featured in the TV series which were especially illustrated by Dr Hedderwick for the show.

The first copies were on sale at the event, and Dr Hedderwick said she was "delighted" to launch both the new nursery and her latest work.

She said: "To be launching my latest children's book in an environment like this is a great compliment to Katie Morag and myself."

The first book in the series, Katie Morag Delivers the Mail, was released in 1984.

A second television series of her adventures, starring Cherry Campbell, is currently being filmed.

Related Topics

More on this story

Around the BBC

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites