Tayside and Central Scotland

Angus MacColl bags Glenfiddich Piping crown

Winner Angus MacColl (right) with last year's winner Stuart Liddell
Image caption Winner Angus MacColl (right) with last year's winner Stuart Liddell

The Glenfiddich Piping Championship has been won by Angus MacColl.

Mr MacColl, of Benderloch, Oban, won the championship for the third time, after competing against nine of the best solo pipers from around the world.

The Glenfiddich championship is only open to those who have had previous prestigious competitive successes earlier in 2010.

The event, seen as piping's 'ultimate accolade' was held in the ballroom of Blair Castle in Perthshire .

Last year's winner, Stuart Liddell of Inveraray, was runner-up.

Pipers are required to compete in both the Piobaireachd and the March, Strathspey & Reel traditions.

Mr MacColl said: "I am absolutely delighted to have won this year's Glenfiddich title.

"In the professional world of solo-piping it is without doubt the most sought after prize and it has been an incredible honour not just to win, but to compete alongside such exceptional talent.

It is Mr MacColl's third title after previously scooping the trophy in 2006 and in 1995.

The competition was established in 1974 and features the world's finest solo pipers.

Other 2010 finalists included returning champion Stuart Liddell of Inveraray, Angus MacDonald, from Skye, Angus MacColl, of Oban, Roderick MacLeod, from Glasgow, and Iain Speirs, from Edinburgh.

Also, William McCallum, from Campbeltown, and Candian-based pipers Jack Lee, Bruce Gandy and Andrew Hayes.

The youngest finalist was 18-year-old Faye Henderson, the first woman in more than 20 years to make the final.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites