South Scotland

Battle of Sark site near Gretna added to Scots battlefield list

Battle of Sark Image copyright Andrew Spratt

The site of the Battle of Sark near Gretna has been added to Scotland's Inventory of Historic Battlefields taking the total to 40.

The 1448 clash was the first decisive victory for a Scottish force over the English since the Battle of Otterburn, 60 years earlier.

It was the final pitched battle between the two countries in the period of the Hundred Years War.

The inventory aims to raise awareness of "important battlefield sites".

Historic Environment Scotland's Philip Robertson said: "Following an application from a member of the public, we carried out further research into the Battle of Sark, and found that it met the criteria to be added to the inventory.

"The battle was fought during a fascinating and tumultuous period of Scottish history, and we hope that by adding it to the inventory we will raise awareness of the battlefield site, stimulate further research around it, and develop its potential as an educational resource and site for visitors."

Factfile: Battle of Sark

Renewed border skirmishing saw Henry Percy, future 3rd earl of Northumberland, defeated by Hugh Douglas, earl of Ormond, on 23 October 1448.

The encounter took place on the river Sark, near Gretna.

Percy was taken prisoner and had to be ransomed.

The following year the English burned Dumfries and Dunbar, and the Scots Alnwick and Warkworth.

Source: The Oxford Companion to British History

The Inventory of Historic Battlefields was created in 2011 and helps with the protection and management of battlefields.

The full list of other battlefields, added in three phases, are: Alford (1645), Ancrum Moor (1545), Auldearn (1645), Bannockburn (1314), Bothwell Bridge (1679), Culloden (1746), Dunbar II (1650), Dupplin Moor (1332), Falkirk II (1746), Glenshiel (1719), Harlaw (1411), Killiecrankie (1689), Kilsyth (1645), Philiphaugh (1645), Pinkie (1547), Prestonpans (1745) and Sheriffmuir (1715).

Barra (1308), Carbisdale (1650), Cromdale (1690), Drumclog (1679), Fyvie (1645), Inverkeithing II (1651), Inverlochy II (1645), Linlithgow Bridge (1526), Mulroy (1688), Rullion Green (1666) and Stirling Bridge (1297).

Blar-na-Leine (1544), Dunbar I (1296), Dunkeld (1689), Glenlivet (1594), Inverlochy I (1431), Langside (1568), Loudoun Hill (1307), Roslin (1303), Sauchieburn (1488), Skirmish Hill (1526) and Tippermuir (1644).

Related Topics

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites