Walter Scott Prize shortlist announced

image copyrightGetty Images
image captionThe Walter Scott Prize will be awarded in the Scottish Borders later this year

The shortlist has been revealed for the Walter Scott Prize for historical fiction to be awarded at the Borders Book Festival in Melrose in June.

Seven contenders remain from the original longlist of 15 for the event's sixth edition.

The shortlist for the £30,000 award was announced at 50 Albermarle Street in London, the home of Scott's original publisher John Murray.

The winner will be announced in the Borders this summer.

The final shortlist is:

  • The Zone of Interest by Martin Amis
  • The Lie by Helen Dunmore
  • Viper Wine by Hermione Eyre
  • In the Wolf's Mouth by Adam Foulds
  • Arctic Summer by Damon Galgut
  • A God in Every Stone by Kamila Shamsie
  • The Ten Thousand Things by John Spurling

Announcing the shortlist, the chair of judges Alistair Moffat said: "We had a record number of entries, our most extensive longlist and, as a result, our longest shortlist since the first Walter Scott Prize in 2010.

"This list of seven fantastic novels represents the diversity and breadth of style that the genre of historical fiction now encompasses - from the poetic to the experimental, and from satire to adventure, writing set in the past can challenge, excite and innovate in a hundred different ways.

"Our 2015 shortlist could easily have been longer, but we hope we have represented the vibrancy of historical writing published in this last year, as well as a broad range of global settings from colonial India to 14th Century China, Europe during the two world wars, and 17th Century England."

The winner of the prize receives £25,000, and each of the shortlisted authors receive £1000, making the 2015 total prize worth £31,000.

Related Topics

More on this story

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.