Scotland politics

Who are the MEP candidates in Scotland?

Polling station Glasgow 2017 Image copyright Getty Images

Scotland's political parties have submitted their candidate lists for European Parliament elections in May - should the UK end up holding them.

Voting has been fixed for Thursday 23 May, but could still be called off if a Brexit deal is agreed before then.

Scotland operates as a single nation-wide constituency for the election, and is represented by six MEPs.

Parties put forward lists of candidates who are then elected on a proportional representation basis from votes cast.

Here is the full list of candidates confirmed as standing in Scotland by the Electoral Commission.


  • Alyn Smith (currently an MEP)
  • Christian Allard
  • Aileen Macleod
  • Margaret Ferrier
  • Heather Anderson
  • Alexander Kerr

Scottish Conservatives

  • Nosheena Mobarik (currently an MEP)
  • Iain McGill
  • Shona Haslam
  • Iain Whyte
  • Andrea Gee
  • Michael Kusznir

Scottish Labour

  • David Martin (currently an MEP)
  • Jayne Baxter
  • Craig Miller
  • Amy Lee Fraioli
  • Callum O'Dwyer
  • Angela Bretherton

Scottish Greens

  • Maggie Chapman
  • Lorna Slater
  • Gillian Mackay
  • Chas Booth
  • Mags Hall
  • Allan Faulds

Scottish Lib Dems

  • Sheila Ritchie
  • Fred Mackintosh
  • Catriona Bhatia
  • Vita Zaporozcenko
  • John Edward
  • Clive Sneddon


  • Donald MacKay
  • Janice MacKay
  • Otto Inglis
  • Mark Meechan
  • Roy Hill
  • Neil Wilson

Change UK

  • David Macdonald
  • Peter Griffiths
  • Kate Forman
  • Heather Astbury
  • Colin McFadyen
  • Catherine Edgeworth

Brexit Party

  • Louis Stedman-Bryce
  • Karina Walker
  • James Ferguson-Hannah
  • Stuart Waiton
  • Paul Aitken
  • Calum Walker


  • Ken Parke
  • Gordon Edgar