BBC News

Conservatives win two Aberdeenshire by-elections

image copyrightAberdeenshire Council
image captionIain Taylor (left) and Colin Clark won the by-elections

The Conservatives have won two Aberdeenshire Council by-elections.

Iain Taylor is the new councillor for Banff and District, replacing SNP councillor Ian Gray, who died in August. Turnout was 29.5%.

Colin Clark was elected for Inverurie and District, where the turnout was 30.4%.

The by-election was triggered by the council's former co-leader, independent Martin Kitts Hayes, standing down in August.

Mr Kitts-Hayes had returned home early from a foreign conference because he was unhappy with his accommodation.

He said resulting personal abuse had put an "intolerable strain" on himself and his family.

Related Topics

  • Aberdeenshire Council
  • Scottish Conservatives

More on this story

  • Two Aberdeenshire Council by-elections being held