Scottish Land Commission formally established

image copyrightScottish Land Commission
image captionCommissioners (from left) Megan MacInnes, Prof David Adams, Andrew Thin, Bob McIntosh, Dr Sally Reynolds and Lorne MacLeod

The new Scottish Land Commission has been formally established and started its work.

It was set up as part of the Land Reform (Scotland) Act 2016 to review law and policy and make recommendations to the Scottish government.

Based in Inverness, it has five land commissioners, a tenant farming commissioner and support staff.

The commission will be holding events across Scotland to raise awareness about its functions.

Andrew Thin, the commission's chairman, said: "The commissioners and I have been in post for a few months and now the organisation is officially established we are really keen to get out and talk with everyone who has an interest in the work of the commission.

"We have published our interim corporate plan for 2017-18 which outlines the commission's priorities for the first year and how we will help to take the next step on the land reform journey.

"We are focused on driving land reform and working towards creating a fairer more inclusive Scotland, in which everyone has a shared interest in our land, and everyone looks out for the interests of others."

Land Reform Secretary Roseanna Cunningham said the new organisation will help to influence future developments in land ownership in rural and urban areas.

She said: "The membership of the commission reflects the fact that land reform impacts on every single person in Scotland, with members from cities, towns, rural areas and a dedicated tenant farming commissioner to deal with the specialised nature of this important area."

The commissioners are Mr Thin, Megan MacInnes, Prof David Adams, tenant farming commissioner Bob McIntosh, Dr Sally Reynolds and Lorne MacLeod.

More on this story

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.