Highlands & Islands

Results in Crofting Commission elections

All the results have been declared in the first elections to the board of the Crofting Commission.

Ballot papers were counted electronically in Inverness, with five places up for grabs on the board of the Scottish government agency.

The elections were introduced as part of reforms of crofting legislation in 2010. The candidates included 24 men and four women.

Results for the five constituencies have been announced.

Kathleen Sinclair has been elected to represent Shetland, Donnie Ross for East Highlands and Murdo Maclennan for the Western Isles.

Colin Kennedy has been elected to South West Highlands and and I G Macdonald for West Highlands.

Arnie Pirie had already been elected to represent Orkney and Caithness. He was unopposed.

Three appointments to the board were also been made by the Scottish government.

They are Susan Walker, William Swann and Sandy Cross.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites