Eleven Western Isles schools 'to close'

Image caption,
Daliburgh school is among those set to close

Eleven schools are facing closure in the Western Isles following a decision by members of the education committee at Comhairle nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles Council).

Councillors agreed to close eight primary schools and three junior secondary schools.

However, the plan will have to be passed at the full council meeting on Thursday.

The meeting lasted all day, having begun at about 1000 GMT.

The school estate review estimated that by reducing the number of schools and decreasing the staff to pupil ratio, the council would make a net saving of about £2m.

The schools facing closure are Balallan, Bragar, Carloway, Cross, Daliburgh, Lionel, Sandwickhill, Scalpay, Shawbost, Sheilebost and Stoneybridge.

More on this story

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.