Glasgow & West Scotland

SNP and Labour freeze out Tories in East Renfrewshire

East Renfrewshire will be run by the SNP and Labour
Image caption Labour and the SNP have scuppered Tory hopes of running East Renfrewshire Council

The SNP and Labour are set to run East Renfrewshire Council despite the Conservatives winning the most seats.

The two parties, along with a local independent councillor, have said they will work together to protect local services.

The Conservatives took seven seats to become the largest party at the recent elections.

However, the SNP with five councillors and Labour with four have excluded them from a deal to form an administration.

This is the latest example of a deal which cuts out the largest local group.

Labour are set to run North Lanarkshire Council although the SNP have more councillors.

The Conservatives have remained in opposition in South Ayrshire.

Meanwhile, the SNP have been frozen out in Aberdeen, Angus and Argyll and Bute.

New administrations are still to be agreed at a number of councils including West Lothian and Edinburgh.

Councillor Tony Buchanan, leader of the SNP group in East Renfrewshire, said: "I am delighted that we have reached an agreement to build on the work and achievements of the last 10 years.

"East Renfrewshire is regularly quoted as being one of the best places to live in Scotland. The administration has a shared manifesto to continue to deliver our vision of a modern, ambitious council creating a fairer future for all."

Councillor Paul O'Kane, leader of the Labour Group, said: "We have been working with the SNP group and Councillor Devlin for the last 10 years so in essence this is a continuation of that arrangement."

What about the other councils?

Glasgow - The SNP has formed a minority administration, ending almost 40 years of Labour dominance.

West Lothian - No deal agreed after Scottish Labour's ruling body told councillors not to enter a coalition with the Conservatives.

Aberdeen Council - Labour suspended nine councillors after they agreed a coalition deal with the Conservatives.

North Lanarkshire - Labour have formed a minority administration. There will be no formal coalition agreement with the Tories.

South Lanarkshire - Labour members abstained in a vote on forming an alliance with the Tories. The SNP took control of the council, with a minority administration. They are seven seats short of a majority but the other parties could agree to work together.

West Dunbartonshire Council - It will be an SNP-Independent administration. The 10 SNP councillors have joined with one of the two independents to form an administration.

Edinburgh - No agreement reached. A new administration will not now be formed for at least another week.

Fife Council - Joint leadership, with power shared equally between SNP and Labour.

Highland Council - 28 independents along with 10 Lib Dems and three Labour have formed an administration, keeping out the SNP and Tories.

Renfrewshire Council - will operate as an SNP minority administration.

Aberdeenshire Council - A coalition of Conservative, Liberal Democrats and independent councillors will run the council.

Scottish Borders - A new Conservative-independent coalition has taken formal control. It was previously an SNP/Lib Dem/independent administration.

Falkirk - SNP minority takes control of the council

North Ayrshire Council - Labour will continue to run the council despite a surge from the Scottish Conservatives in the local elections. The SNP have the same number of seats as Labour.

East Ayrshire Council - SNP minority administration

Angus Council - Conservatives, Independents and Liberal Democrats form administration.

North Lanarkshire - Labour have formed a minority administration. There will be no formal coalition agreement with the Tories.

Clackmannanshire - The first meeting of the new council could not agree an administration.

Moray Council - A meeting to agree its new administration was adjourned after just two minutes to allow more time for coalition talks. Councillors will meet again on Wednesday 24 May. Both the SNP and Conservative groups have been trying to reach agreement with independent members.

Dumfries and Galloway Council - A coalition between Labour and the SNP has taken control, meaning the Conservative group, which won most seats at the recent elections, is kept out of the administration.

South Ayrshire Council - A coalition of SNP, Labour and Independent councillors has been formed to run the council.

Dundee City Council - SNP to form administration with Independent.

Argyll and Bute Council - Independent, Lib Dem and Conservative coalition

East Lothian - Labour minority administration

Western Isles, Orkney and Shetland - All administrations dominated by independents.

Perth and Kinross - A Conservative-led coalition with the Lib Dems and Independents.