Glasgow & West Scotland

Homeless World Cup to be played in Glasgow this summer

Homeless world cup Image copyright Thinkstock
Image caption Washinton DC played host to the tournament in 2010, where Brazil were crowned winners

The Homeless World Cup will be played in Glasgow for the first time this summer.

The football tournament for men and women who have no fixed address will run for seven days from 10 July.

George Square will be transformed into three football pitches with seating for an estimated 100,000 spectators.

A total of 51 countries are expected to take part in the competition, which first took place in Graz, Austria in 2003.

Up to 100,000 spectators are expected to attend the tournament, which will see 64 teams compete.

Entry is free and tickets are not required.

Image copyright PA
Image caption Italy beat Poland 3-2 to win the tournament in Edinburgh in 2005

Mel Young, the president of the Homeless World Cup Foundation, said Glasgow will be an "amazing" host city.

He said: "This is significantly more than a football tournament - it's a real celebration of optimism.

"We will have 512 players with us, and every single one of them is at some stage of their journey towards a more stable future.

"We want people to come to George Square in their tens of thousands this July, and feel that sense of optimism, and to be inspired by it.

"Knowing Glasgow as we do, there are surely few better places in the world to celebrate our movement."

Edinburgh hosted the event in 2005 and Scotland's men's team won the trophy in 2007 and 2011.

Organisers claim it has the power to change the lives of the participants who are selected to represent their country.

Image copyright Thinkstock
Image caption The defending champions are Mexico, who won in Amstrdam in 2015

Previous winners of the Homeless World Cup

Men's tournament

  • 2015 Mexico
  • 2014 Chile
  • 2013 Brazil
  • 2012 Chile
  • 2011 Scotland
  • 2010 Brazil
  • 2009 Ukraine
  • 2008 Afghanistan

Women's tournament

  • 2015 Mexico
  • 2014 Chile
  • 2013 Mexico
  • 2012 Mexico
  • 2011 Kenya
  • 2010 Brazil
  • 2008 Zambia


Street Soccer Scotland, founded in 2009, is the organisation which represents Team Scotland at the Homeless World Cup each year.

The programme delivers football-related personal development and training sessions for around 1,000 socially disadvantaged people every week.

Its founder and chief executive David Duke said: "It's great to offer our players, who will be selected from the many thousands who take part in our hundreds of football programmes across the country, with an opportunity to represent their country on home turf."

Glasgow City Council depute leader Archie Graham, who was responsible within the council for the delivery of the 2014 Commonwealth Games, said: "Sport changes lives - we know that from experience in Glasgow.

"It inspires and connects with people on so many levels and the Homeless World Cup is the perfect example of that.

"It raises awareness of the challenges faced by many people in communities across the world, but more than that, it shows what can be achieved by working together."

Related Topics

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites