Edinburgh, Fife & East Scotland

Edinburgh Award winner search is launched

Edinburgh Award
Image caption Sir Chris Hoy won the Edinburgh Award in 2009

The search to find the next recipient of the Edinburgh Award has been launched.

Nominations have been opened to find the successor to Dame Elizabeth Blackadder.

The award is a way for Edinburgh to pay a lasting tribute to people who have made an outstanding contribution to the city.

Past recipients include Nobel laureate Prof Peter Higgs, Sir Chris Hoy, JK Rowling and Ian Rankin.

Each winner has a cast of their handprints inscribed in Caithness stone and immortalised in the City Chambers quadrangle.

Nominations are sought annually from communities, businesses and individuals across Edinburgh and the winner is selected by a panel chaired by the Lord Provost.

Lord Provost Donald Wilson said: "The Edinburgh Award enables the people of Edinburgh to pay a lasting tribute to someone who has made an outstanding contribution to the city through their work or achievements in recent years.

"We already have a fantastic cast of former winners, so whoever joins them will become the member of a very prestigious club indeed."

Nominations can be made online no later than Friday 25 November 2013.

The winner will be presented with an engraved Loving Cup by the Lord Provost at a ceremony early next year.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites