Football great Denis Law gets a CBE in New Year Honours list

Scottish Hall of Fame member Denis Law
Image caption Denis Law has been a long-time charity campaigner

Scottish footballer Denis Law has received a CBE in the New Year Honours list.

The former Scotland and Manchester United striker, 75, has been recognised for his work supporting charities as well as his sporting achievements.

He said: "To get something like this is really very pleasing. I'm quite proud. It's like 'Wow'."

Other Scots recognised include Paul Grice, the Scottish Parliament's clerk and chief executive, who is knighted.

David Stewart, the master blender for William Grant and Sons Distillers, receives an MBE.

Former principal and vice-chancellor of Edinburgh's Heriot Watt University Prof Steven Chapman picks up a CBE for services to higher education.

And Dr John Gillies, one of Scotland most senior GPs, is made an OBE.

Image copyright PA
Image caption Denis Law pictured in 1995 with former Manchester United team-mates Bobby Charlton and George Best

Aberdeen-born Denis Law is Scotland's all-time joint record goal scorer with 30 goals in 55 internationals.

He began his playing career at Huddersfield Town in the mid-1950s and is best known for his 11 years at Manchester United, scoring 237 goals in 404 games.

The striker was named European footballer of the year in 1964, the only Scottish player to have won the award.

He has been an active and high-profile supporter of various charities for many years.

Law, who now lives in Cheshire, has long-promoted the Meningitis Now charity after his son contracted the disease.

Cancer diagnosis

He recovered from a prostate cancer diagnosis more than a decade ago and since then has been vocal about the importance of early detection.

Speaking of his charity work, he said: "To be involved in the game of football that I love, that was normal.

"But the things I was involved in with young kids, with cancer research, you are sort of giving something back.

"To go and help people who are really struggling in life is really wonderful."

The former footballing great is one of about 130 Scots to receive honours in the 2016 list.

Also collecting a CBE is Catherine Dyer, chief executive of the Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service, for her services to law and order.

Other CBE recipients include Mark McInnes - director of the Scottish Conservatives - and Marion Taylor, the chief dental officer for Scotland.

The Queen's Police Medal has three Scots recipients this year - chief superintendents Eleanor Mitchell and Andrew Morris, and Det Supt Louise Raphael.

More on this story