How MSPs voted on the End of Life Assistance Bill

The Scottish Parliament has rejected plans to give terminally ill people the right to choose when to die, despite claims they were widely backed.

Independent MSP Margo MacDonald's End of Life Assistance Bill was defeated by 85 votes to 16 with two abstentions in a "free vote" of parliament, rather than along party lines.

Here is how members voted:


Christine Grahame, SNP, South of Scotland

Robin, Harper, Green, Lothians

Patrick Harvie, Green, Glasgow

Jamie Hepburn, SNP, Central Scotland

Jim Hume, Liberal Democrat, South of Scotland

Bill Kidd, SNP, Glasgow

Richard Lochhead, SNP, Moray

Margo MacDonald, independent, Lothians

Liam McArthur, Liberal Democrat, Orkney

Ian McKee, SNP, Lothians

Anne McLaughlin, SNP, Glasgow

John Park, Labour, Mid Scotland and Fife

Jeremy Purvis, Liberal Democrat, Tweeddale, Ettrick and Lauderdale

Iain Smith, Liberal Democrat, North East Fife

Sandra White, SNP, Glasgow

Bill Wilson, SNP, West of Scotland


Brian Adam, SNP, Aberdeen North

Bill Aitken, Conservative, Glasgow

Wendy Alexander, Labour, Paisley North

Alasdair Allan, SNP, Western Isles

Jackie Baillie, Labour, Dumbarton

Richard Baker, Labour, North East Scotland

Sarah Boyack, Labour, Edinburgh Central

Rhona Brankin, Labour, Midlothian

Ted Brocklebank, Conservative, Mid Scotland and Fife

Gavin Brown, Conservative, Lothians

Keith Brown, SNP, Ochil

Robert Brown, Liberal Democrat, Glasgow

Derek Brownlee, Conservative, South of Scotland

Bill Butler, Labour, Glasgow Anniesland

Malcolm Chisholm, Labour, Edinburgh North and Leith

Willie Coffey, SNP, Kilmarnock and Loudoun

Angela Constance, SNP, Livingston

Cathie Craigie, Labour, Cumbernauld and Kilsyth

Roseanna Cunningham, SNP, Perth

Nigel Don, SNP, North East Scotland

Bob Doris, SNP, Glasgow

Helen Eadie, Labour, Dunfermline East

Fergus Ewing, SNP, Inverness East, Nairn and Lochaber

Linda Fabiani, SNP, Central Scotland

Patricia Ferguson, Labour, Glasgow Maryhill

Ross Finnie, Liberal Democrat, West of Scotland

Joe FitzPatrick, SNP, Dundee West

Kenny Gibson, SNP, Cunninghame North

Rob Gibson, SNP, Highlands and Islands

Karen Gillon, Labour, Clydesdale

Marlyn Glen, Labour, North East Scotland

Trish Godman, Labour, West Renfrewshire

Annabel Goldie, Conservative, West of Scotland

Rhoda Grant, Labour, Highlands and Islands

Iain Gray, Labour, East Lothian

Hugh Henry, Labour, Paisley South

Fiona Hyslop, SNP, Lothians

Adam Ingram, SNP, South of Scotland

James Kelly, Labour, Glasgow Rutherglen

Andy Kerr, Labour, East Kilbride

Johann Lamont, Labour, Glasgow Pollok

John Lamont, Conservative, Roxburgh and Berwickshire

Marilyn Livingstone, Labour, Kirkcaldy

Kenny MacAskill, SNP, Edinburgh East and Musselburgh

Lewis Macdonald, Labour, Aberdeen Central

Ken Macintosh, Labour, Eastwood

Paul Martin, Labour, Glasgow Springburn

Tricia Marwick, SNP, Central Fife

Jim Mather, SNP, Argyll and Bute

Michael Matheson, SNP, Falkirk West

Frank McAveety, Labour, Glasgow Shettleston

Jamie McGrigor, Conservative, Highlands and Islands

Alison McInnes, Liberal Democrat, North East Scotland

Christina McKelvie, SNP, Central Scotland

David McLetchie, Conservative, Edinburgh Pentlands

Michael McMahon, Labour, Hamilton North and Bellshill

Stuart McMillan, SNP, West of Scotland

Duncan McNeil, Labour, Greenock and Inverclyde

Pauline McNeill, Labour, Glasgow Kelvin

Des McNulty, Labour, Clydebank and Milngavie

Nanette Milne, Conservative, North East Scotland

Margaret Mitchell, Conservative, Central Scotland

Alasdair Morgan, SNP, South of Scotland

Mary Mulligan, Labour, Linlithgow

Elaine Murray, Labour, Dumfries

Alex Neil, SNP, Central Scotland

Gil Paterson, SNP, West of Scotland

Peter Peacock, Labour, Highlands and Islands

Cathy Peattie, Labour, Falkirk East

Mike Pringle, Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh South

Mike Rumbles, Liberal Demcorats, West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine

Mike Russell, SNP, South of Scotland

Alex Salmond, SNP, Gordon

Mary Scanlon, Conservative, Highlands and Islands

John Scott, Conservative, Ayr

Tavish Scott, Liberal Democrat, Shetland

Dr Richard Simpson, Labour, Mid Scotland and Fife

Margaret Smith, Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West

Nicol Stephen, Liberal Democrat, Aberdeen South

Stewart Stevenson, SNP, Banff and Buchan

David Stewart, Labour, Highlands and Islands

Nicola Sturgeon, SNP, Glasgow Govan

Dave Thompson, SNP, Highlands and Islands

Maureen Watt, SNP, North East Scotland

David Whitton, Labour, Strathkelvin and Bearsden


Jackson Carlaw, Conservative, West of Scotland

Charlie Gordon, Labour, Glasgow Cathcart

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites