Government resignations: Who resigned, who stayed?

  • Published
Sajid Javid and Rishi Sunak in Cabinet on 5 JulyImage source, PA Media

As Boris Johnson decides to step down as prime minister, who resigned from his government ahead of the announcement?


Image source, Getty Images
Image caption,
Rishi Sunak and Sajid Javid quit Boris Johnson's cabinet on Tuesday night, unleashing a flurry of resignations from government roles.


  • Chancellor Rishi Sunak
  • Health Secretary Sajid Javid
  • Welsh Secretary Simon Hart
  • Northern Ireland Secretary Brandon Lewis
  • Education Secretary Michelle Donelan


  • Will Quince, education minister
  • Alex Chalk, solicitor general
  • Robin Walker, education minister
  • John Glen, Treasury minister
  • Victoria Atkins, justice minister
  • Jo Churchill, environment minister
  • Stuart Andrew, housing minister
  • Kemi Badenoch, levelling up minister
  • Neil O'Brien, levelling up minister
  • Alex Burghart, education minister
  • Lee Rowley, business minister
  • Julia Lopez, culture minister
  • Mims Davies, work and pensions minister
  • Rachel Maclean, Home Office minister
  • Mike Freer, equalities minister
  • Edward Argar, health minister
  • Helen Whately, treasury minister
  • Damian Hinds, security minister
  • George Freeman, science minister
  • Guy Opperman, pensions minister
  • Chris Philp, technology minister
  • James Cartlidge, courts minister
  • Caroline Johnson, Conservative Party vice-chair
  • Luke Hall, deputy chair of the Conservative Party
  • Rebecca Pow, environment minister

Parliamentary private secretaries

  • Jonathan Gullis, Northern Ireland Office
  • Saqib Bhatti, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Nicola Richards, Department of Transport
  • Virginia Crosbie, Welsh Office
  • Laura Trott, Department of Transport
  • Felicity Buchan, Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • Selaine Saxby, Treasury
  • Claire Coutinho, Treasury
  • David Johnston, Department for Education
  • Duncan Baker, Department for Levelling Up
  • Craig Williams, Treasury
  • Mark Logan, Northern Ireland Office
  • Sara Britcliffe, Department for Education
  • Ruth Edwards, Scottish Office
  • Peter Gibson, Department for International Trade
  • James Sunderland, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
  • Jacob Young, Department for Levelling Up
  • Mark Fletcher, Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • James Daly, Department for Work and Pensions
  • Danny Kruger, Department for Levelling Up
  • Dr James Davies, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Gareth Davies, Department of Health and Social Care
  • Rob Butler, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office


  • Bim Afolami, vice-chairman of the Conservative Party for youth
  • Andrew Murrison, trade envoy to Morocco
  • Theodora Clarke, trade envoy to Kenya
  • David Duguid, trade envoy to Angola and Zambia
  • David Mundell, trade envoy for New Zealand
  • Richard Graham, trade envoy for South East Asia


  • Levelling Up Secretary Michael Gove

Still undeclared

Image source, Reuters
  • Cabinet Office Minister Michael Ellis
  • Home Office Minister Kit Malthouse
  • Cabinet Office Minister Nigel Adams
  • Leader of the House of Lords Baroness Evans

Staying in the cabinet - but urging PM to go

  • Home Secretary Priti Patel
  • Transport Secretary Grant Shapps
  • Attorney General Suella Braverman
  • Business Secretary Kwasi Kwarteng
  • New Chancellor Nadhim Zahawi

Staying in the cabinet

Image source, Reuters
Image caption,
Michael Ellis, Mark Spencer, Kwasi Kwarteng, Michael Gove, Priti Patel, Steve Barclay, Dominic Raab, Liz Truss and Ben Wallace at a cabinet meeting
  • New Health Secretary Steve Barclay
  • Deputy PM and Justice Secretary Dominic Raab
  • Defence Secretary Ben Wallace
  • Foreign Secretary Liz Truss
  • Scotland Secretary Alister Jack
  • Environment Secretary George Eustice
  • Leader of the House Mark Spencer
  • Culture Secretary Nadine Dorries
  • Work and Pensions Secretary Therese Coffey
  • Brexit opportunities minister Jacob Rees-Mogg
  • Chief Whip Chris Heaton-Harris
  • Chief Secretary to the Treasury Simon Clarke
  • International Trade Secretary Anne-Marie Trevelyan