UK Politics

Copeland by-election: Candidates list

Sellafield nuclear plant in the Copeland constituency Image copyright PA
Image caption Copeland is home to the Sellafield nuclear fuel reprocessing and decommissioning plant

A by-election will be held in Copeland on 23 February following the resignation of sitting MP Jamie Reed.

Labour, which won the West Cumbrian seat with a 2,564 majority in 2015, has chosen Gill Troughton as its candidate.

The Conservatives, which came second in that poll, have selected Trudy Harrison to contest the seat.

The Liberal Democrats, UKIP and the Green Party are also fielding candidates while a number of independents are also standing.

The poll will be held on the same day as a by-election in Stoke-on-Trent Central.

Here is the full list of the candidates:

  • Michael Guest - Independent
  • Rebecca Hanson - Liberal Democrats
  • Trudy Harrison - Conservatives
  • Roy Ivinson - Independent
  • Jack Lenox - Green Party
  • Fiona Mills - UKIP
  • Gillian Troughton - Labour

More on this story