UK Politics

Sleaford and North Hykeham voters to choose new MP

Ballot box

Voting is taking place in the Sleaford and North Hykeham by-election, called to find a replacement for previous MP Stephen Phillips.

Ten candidates are vying for the Lincolnshire constituency, with polls opening at 07:00 GMT and closing at 22:00 GMT.

The weather is set to be cloudy but dry, with a predicted maximum temperature of 13C.

The result of the by-election is expected at about 04:00 GMT on Friday.

The full list of candidates is:

  • The Iconic Arty-Pole - Monster Raving Loony Party
  • Victoria Ayling - UKIP
  • David Bishop - Bus-Pass Elvis Party
  • Jim Clarke - Labour
  • Paul Coyne - No description
  • Dr Caroline Johnson - Conservatives
  • Marianne Overton - Lincolnshire Independents
  • Ross Pepper - Liberal Democrats
  • Sarah Stock - Independent
  • Mark Suffield - No description