UK Politics

Richmond Park by-election: Voters going to the polls

Richmond Park Image copyright Reuters
Image caption The constituency includes Richmond Park, London's largest enclosed green space

Voters are going to the polls to elect a new MP for the constituency of Richmond Park.

A by-election was triggered in the south-west London seat by the decision of former Conservative MP Zac Goldsmith to resign and seek re-election as an independent candidate.

Polling stations opened at 07:00 GMT and close at 22:00 GMT.

The Conservatives had a majority of 23,015 at the 2015 general election, with the Lib Dems in second place.

Here, are all the candidates, in alphabetical order of surname:

  • Zac Goldsmith, Independent
  • Howling Laud Hope, The Official Monster Raving Loony Party
  • Maharaja Jammu and Kashmir, One Love Party
  • Sarah Olney, Liberal Democrats
  • David Powell
  • Dominic Francis Stockford, Christian Peoples Alliance
  • Fiona Natasha Syms, Independent
  • Christian Wolmar, Labour Party