UK Politics

10 candidates for Sleaford and North Hykeham by-election

Stephen Phillips MP
Image caption Stephen Phillips had been an MP since 2010 until his resignation triggered a by-election

Ten candidates will contest the parliamentary by-election in Sleaford and North Hykeham on 8 December.

The Lincolnshire seat is vacant following the resignation of Conservative MP Stephen Phillips earlier this month.

He had a majority of more than 24,000 at the last general election.

Paediatrician Caroline Johnson will run for the Tories, taking on Labour's Jim Clarke, Lib Dem Ross Pepper and UKIP's Victoria Ayling.

Mr Phillips, who had held the seat since 2010, quit following what he described as "irreconcilable policy differences" with the government.

The by-election will come a week after another in Richmond Park, London, caused by the resignation of Conservative MP Zac Goldsmith in protest at ministers' decision to go ahead with a third runway at Heathrow airport.

Unlike Mr Phillips, Mr Goldsmith is standing for re-election, but as an independent rather than a Conservative.

Labour's Sleaford hopeful Mr Clarke is a refuse collector, while Lib Dem Mr Pepper works for an optician and UKIP's Ms Ayling is a Lincolnshire County councillor.

The Green Party is not fielding a candidate, but has given its backing to independent Sarah Stock, who is campaigning on a "Save the NHS" ticket.

The full list of candidates for the Sleaford and North Hykeham by-election is:

  • The Iconic Arty-Pole - Monster Raving Loony Party
  • Victoria Ayling - UKIP
  • David Bishop - Bus-Pass Elvis Party
  • Jim Clarke - Labour
  • Paul Coyne - No description
  • Dr Caroline Johnson - Conservatives
  • Marianne Overton - Lincolnshire Independents
  • Ross Pepper - Liberal Democrats
  • Sarah Stock - Independent
  • Mark Suffield - No description

More on this story