UK Politics

Clacton by-election candidates

The seafront at Clacton Image copyright Getty Images

A by-election will be held in the constituency of Clacton in Essex on 9 October.

The previous MP, Douglas Carswell, has defected from the Conservative to UKIP and will be standing for the latter in the by-election.

Labour and the Liberal Democrats have both also chosen candidates contest the seat.

The Conservatives held an open primary to select who will represent them.

The full list of candidates, in alphabetical order by surname, is:

  • Carswell, Douglas - UK Independence Party
  • Graham, Andy - Liberal Democrats
  • Hope, Howling Laud - The Official Monster Raving Loony Party
  • Rose, Charlotte - Independent
  • Sizer, Bruce Francis - Independent
  • Southall, Chris - Green Party
  • Watling, Giles - Conservative
  • Young, Tim - Labour

More on this story