South Shields by-election result

Emma Lewell-Buck (Lab) 12,493 (50.51%)

Richard Elvin (UKIP) 5,988 (24.21%)

Karen Allen (Con) 2,857 (11.55%)

Ahmed Khan (Ind) 1,331 (5.38%)

Phil Brown (Ind Soc) 750 (3.03%)

Dorothy MacBeth Brookes (BNP) 711 (2.87%)

Hugh Annand (Lib Dem) 352 (1.42%)

Howling Laud Hope (Loony) 197 (0.80%)

Thomas Darwood (Ind) 57 (0.23%)

Lab majority 6,505 (26.30%); Turnout 24,736 (39.28%)

2010: Lab majority 11,109 (30.42%); Turnout 36,518 (57.70%)

More Politics stories



Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.