As it happened: David Cameron's Cabinet reshuffle

Key points

  • David Cameron is reshuffling his cabinet and junior ministerial team
  • Andrew Lansley, Ken Clarke and Justine Greening all moved to lower profile roles
  • Baroness Warsi leaving role as Tory Party co-chairman, Grant Shapps replaces her
  • Andrew Mitchell is Chief Whip, Patrick McLoughlin takes over at Transport
  • Cheryl Gillan replaced as Welsh Secretary by David Jones
  • Iain Duncan Smith stays as welfare chief after rejecting move to justice job

Live text


  • Aiden James 
  • Kayte Rath 

Last updated 4 September 2012

Updates for this Live Event are currently disabled.