UK Politics

In full: MPs who backed EU referendum motion

Listed below are 111 MPs, including 81 Tories, who supported a motion proposing a debate on UK membership of the European Union.

The motion by Tory MP David Nuttall called for a referendum by May 2013 giving the public three options: keeping the status quo, leaving the EU or reforming the terms of the UK's membership of the EU.

Seventy nine Tories voted in favour of the motion while two tellers, Peter Bone MP and Philip Hollobone MP, indicated they supported a referendum and would have voted in favour of the motion.

Two Tory MPs, Iain Stewart and Mike Weatherley, defied party whips and abstained however we have not included them in the list below.

More on this story