In full: New members of the House of Lords

  • Published

Here is the full list of new members of the House of Lords:

Conservative Party

Tariq Ahmad - businessman and former Vice Chairman of the Conservative Party

Sir Robert Balchin DL - Pro-Chancellor of Brunel University

Elizabeth Berridge - Director of the Conservative Christian Fellowship

Sir Michael Bishop CBE - career in civil aviation, Chairman of The Michael Bishop Foundation a charitable foundation

Alistair Cooke OBE - career in education, authorship and politics

Sir Patrick Cormack - former Conservative MP

Michael Dobbs - author, presenter and adviser to Margaret Thatcher and John Major

Robert Edmiston - businessman and charity campaigner

Sir Reg Empey OBE - Leader of the Ulster Unionist Party 2005 - 2010

Andrew Feldman - businessman and Co-Chairman of the Conservative Party

Julian Fellowes DL - actor, novelist, film director and screenwriter

Stanley Fink - Chief Executive of International Standard Asset Management and Chairman of Earth Capital LLP. Treasurer of the Conservative Party

Howard Flight - career in finance; held various positions in Conservative Shadow Cabinet, Deputy Chairman of the Conservative Party 2004 -2005

David Gold - senior litigation partner at Herbert Smith LLP

Michael Grade CBE - past Chief Executive of Channel 4 Television and former Executive Chairman of ITV plc

Rachael Heyhoe-Flint OBE DL - past captain of England women's cricket team, currently public relations and sports marketing consultant

Anne Jenkin - charitable and political work for the Conservative Party

Sir Michael Lord - former Conservative MP and former Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons

Rt Hon David Maclean - former Conservative MP; held a number of Ministerial posts; Opposition Chief Whip 2001 - 2005

George Magan - career in finance; former Conservative Party Treasurer and Deputy Chairman of the Conservative Party Foundation

Sir Bernard Ribeiro CBE FRCS - retired Consultant General Surgeon; member of the Health Policy Research Advisory Board of the American College of Surgeons

Fiona Shackleton LVO - lawyer specialising in family law

Richard Spring - former Conservative MP

Tina Stowell MBE - former Head of BBC corporate Affairs; past Deputy Chief of Staff to William Hague as Leader of HM Opposition

Nicholas True CBE - past Deputy Head of the PM's Policy Unit; former Private Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition in the House of Lords; Leader of Richmond Borough Council

Patience Wheatcroft - Editor-in-Chief of the Wall Street Journal Europe

Gordon Wasserman - internationally recognised expert on management of police forces

The Queen has also been graciously pleased to signify Her intention of conferring a Peerage of the United Kingdom for Life upon General Sir Richard Dannatt GCB CBE MC DL, Former Chief of the General Staff. Sir Richard has elected to sit on the cross benches.

Liberal Democrat Party

Dr Sarah (Sal) Brinton - Executive Director of the Association of Universities in the East of England

Dee Doocey OBE - Chair of the London Assembly

Qurban Hussain - Deputy Group Leader of the Liberal Democrat group on Luton Borough Council

Judith Jolly - Chair of Executive Committee of Liberal Democrats in Devon and Cornwall

Susan Kramer - former Liberal Democrat MP

Raj Loomba - businessman and campaigner for widows' rights

Jonathan Marks - commercial and family law QC with specialist interest in human rights and constitutional reform

Monroe Palmer OBE - Liberal Democrat Councillor and Chair of Liberal Democrat Friends of Israel

Jenny Randerson - Liberal Democrat Member of the National Assembly for Wales for Cardiff Central, former Minister in the Welsh Assembly Government

John Sharkey - Chairman of the Liberal Democrat 2010 General Election campaign

Nicol Stephen - Former Deputy First Minister of Scotland (2005 - 2007) and leader of the Scottish Liberal Democrats (2005 - 2008)

Ben Stoneham - Liberal Democrat HQ Operations Director

Mike Storey CBE - Primary School Head teacher, former Leader of Liverpool City Council, Liberal Democrat Councillor and former Lord Mayor of Liverpool;

Paul Strasburger - businessman and philanthropist

Claire Tyler - Chief Executive of Relate

Labour Party

Dame Joan Bakewell DBE - writer and broadcaster

Ray Collins - General Secretary of the Labour Party

Maurice Glasman - Senior Lecturer in political theory at London Metropolitan University and for his work with London Citizens

Jonathan Kestenbaum - businessman and Chief Executive of National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts

Oona King - Head of Diversity at Channel 4 Television and former Labour MP; currently journalist and presenter

Ruth Lister - Emeritus Professor of Social Policy at Loughbrough University

Eluned Morgan - former Labour MEP representing Mid and West Wales; currently Honorary Distinguished Professor at Cardiff University and for her work on low carbon energy

Sir Gulam Noon MBE - Chairman and Founder of Noon Products and of the Noon Foundation

Stewart Wood - former Downing Street and HMT special adviser, lecturer at University of Oxford; previously Fellow of Magdalen College and co-founder of Nexus

Bryony Worthington - career focusing on promoting environmental and social change

Plaid Cymru

Rt Hon Dafydd Wigley - former Leader of Plaid Cymru; Honorary President of Plaid Cymru