Northern Ireland

BT Young Scientist 2016: St Patrick's, Keady, named best NI school

Some of the year 10 pupils from St Patrick's High School who took part in the competition in Dublin Image copyright other
Image caption Some of the year 10 pupils from St Patrick's High School who took part in the competition in Dublin

St Patrick's High School in Keady has been named best Northern Ireland school at the BT Young Scientist and Technology exhibition.

The school beat off competition from 26 other Northern Ireland finalists to win the prize.

Over 550 science projects from schools across the island of Ireland were entered for the awards, held at the RDS in Dublin.

It was the 52nd year in which the awards and exhibition have been held.

St Patrick's principal Pat McGuckian said she was delighted with the performance of the school's pupils.

"We have always been proud of our science department who teach all abilities together and achieve outstanding GCSE and A Level results," she said.

"As well as supporting those who face barriers, we want to stretch and challenge those who show flair in a particular discipline.

"I am thrilled for our year 10 and year eight entrants and deeply grateful to their teachers."

The winners were also congratulated by Education minister John O'Dowd.

Three students from St Catherine's College in Armagh won the award for best project in Irish.

Brid Hughes, Sarah Hanratty and Timera McGuigan were given the award for their entry in the Chemical, Physical and Mathematical Science category.

Meanwhile, two students from Loreto Secondary School in Balbriggan, County Dublin, were named overall BT Young Scientists 2016.

Maria Louise Fufezan and Diana Bura won for their work on the damage done to soil fertility by animal feeds.

They received a trophy and a cheque for 5,000 euros.

The BT young scientist and technology awards are the most prestigious for schools in Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland.

More on this story