Northern Ireland

Seventy-one are named in NI New Year Honours list

Prof Eileen Evason
Image caption Professor Eileen Evason said she was "absolutely delighted" to receive her CBE

Seventy-one people in Northern Ireland have been named in the Queen's New Year Honours list.

Seven serving and former police officers are among those recognised.

Oswyn Paulin, the head of legal services in the NI executive, becomes a companion of the Order of Bath.

Mr Justice Thomas Burgess receives a CBE, as does Professor Eileen Evason, for her services to disadvantaged people in Northern Ireland.

She is probably best known for her work in helping people in need of benefits and is a regular contributor to BBC Radio Ulster's consumer affairs radio programme, On Your Behalf.


"I am absolutely delighted - when I got the letter asking me if I would accept it, I had to sit down and take a deep breath," Ms Evason said.

"Clearly I am very pleased that my work has been recognised and also of course this is recognition of all of the people who work in my field, people who are working in the citizen's advice bureaus, in the independent advice centres and so on.

Image caption Former chief nursing officer Prof Martin Bradley was one of nine people awarded an OBE

"There are a lot of people out there and they are working very hard at trying to support people who having a very tough time in our society at the moment."

Former chief nursing officer Professor Martin Bradley is one of nine people awarded an OBE.

"I see this not just as a reward for myself but also really a reward I think for nurses and midwives in Northern Ireland," he said.


"I think acknowledgement really for the work they do, day-in and day-out and the way they have responded to the many changes in health and social care over the years."

Maureen Clarke, who founded the Angels of Hope charity, is also honoured with an MBE for services to people with ovarian cancer and their families.

"Really this award is down to all the volunteers who helped me throughout the years," she said.

"We couldn't have done it without other people and I really would love to dedicate the award to all those lovely women that I have met and lost over the years."

The Deputy Lord Mayor of Armagh, Sylvia McRoberts, has also been made an MBE for her services to local government.


Three police officers receive the Queen's Police Medal - Sgt Stephen Atkinson, temporary Det Ch Insp James Harkness, and Insp Philip Menary.

They are among seven officers recognised in the Queen's New Year Honours list, including former Ch Supt Gary White who receives an MBE.

The oldest recipient is Georgina Dickson, 90, who received her Medalist of the Order of the British Empire for services to the community and charity fundraising.

Elsewhere on the New years honours list, the former Northern Ireland and Arsenal defender, Pat Rice, has been appointed an MBE.

He won 49 caps with his country, and made more than 400 appearances for Arsenal, helping them win their first league and FA Cup double.

Rice then got the job of assistant manager when Arsene Wenger took over at Highbury in 1996.

The 63-year-old spent 48 years with the London club before his retirement at the end of last season.

More on this story

Around the BBC

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites