SDLP members select south Belfast assembly candidates

Image caption, Alasdair McDonnell is the SDLP MP and MLA for South Belfast

SDLP members in south Belfast have selected Alasdair McDonnell and Conall McDevitt to contest the next assembly election.

Mr Devitt said: "There is a place for progressive politics in this region and the SDLP are leading the way."

Mr McDonnell said: "Our track record in south Belfast shows that the SDLP is the only real political force in the area."

Mr McDonnell is the current SDLP MP and MLA for South Belfast.

In May he said that his combined roles as both an MP and MLA were not an issue for him. The South Belfast representative said that he is content to work seven days a week if necessary.