Tyne & Wear

Northumbria PCC election: Four hopeful as polls open

Clockwise from top left; Georgina Hill, Kim McGuinness, Robbie Moore, Jonathan Wallace
Image caption Four councillors vie to take over the post held by Dame Vera Baird since it came into force in 2012

Polls have opened for voters to decide between four hopefuls vying to become the next Northumbria Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC).

Dame Vera Baird, who has held the post since its inception in 2012, is stepping down after being appointed as the new victims' commissioner.

Polling stations across Northumberland, Newcastle, Gateshead, north and south Tyneside will be open until 22:00 BST.

PCCs are responsible for holding police forces to account.

They also have the authority to hire and fire chief constables and set budgets.

The region's first commissioner election was held in November 2012 and the second in May 2016, both of which were won comfortably by the Labour candidate, Dame Vera.

The candidates are:

  • Georgina Hill, Independent
  • Kim McGuinness, Labour
  • Robbie Moore, Conservative
  • Jonathan Wallace, Liberal Democrat.
Image copyright Google
Image caption The Northumbria Police area covers Gateshead, Newcastle, Northumberland, North Tyneside, South Tyneside and Sunderland

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites