Wythenshawe and Sale East by-election candidates selected

Paul Goggins MP Image copyright PA
Image caption The by-election was triggered by the death of MP Paul Goggins on 7 January

Seven candidates have been selected in the by-election triggered by the death of Labour MP Paul Goggins.

Mr Goggins, who had been MP for the seat in Greater Manchester since 1997, died earlier this month after collapsing while out running.

The Wythenshawe and Sale East by-election will take place on 13 February with the major political parties selecting candidates to fight the seat.

Mr Goggins died on 7 January, after falling ill at the end of December.

Confirmed candidates so far (in alphabetical order):

  • John Bickley (UK Independence Party)
  • Rev Daniel Critchlow (Conservative)
  • Captain Chaplington-Smythe (Monster Raving Loony Party)
  • Mary Di Mauro (Liberal Democrat)
  • Michael Kane (Labour)
  • Eddy O'Sullivan (British National Party)
  • Nigel Woodcock (Green Party)

More on this story