BBC News

London mayoral race 2020: The candidates who say they will be standing

Related Topics
  • London elections 2020

Londoners will head to the polls on 7 May to elect a mayor and 25 London Assembly members.

Some 5.9m voters are registered to vote in the capital with the mayoral election taking place every four years.

These are the candidates who have said they intend to stand for mayor (listed alphabetically):

Shaun Bailey, Conservatives

image copyrightGetty Images

A former youth worker who currently serves as a Tory on the London Assembly.

Siobhan Benita, Liberal Democrats

image copyrightGetty Images

A former civil servant who previously stood as an independent candidate in the 2012 London mayoral election.

Sian Berry, Green Party

image copyrightPA Media

The co-leader of the Green Party currently serves as a London Assembly member and councillor in Camden.

Count Binface, Independent

image copyrightReuters

A self-proclaimed interplanetary space warrior, who challenged Boris Johnson in the 2019 general election.

Drillminister, Independent

A London-born drill rapper who is running as an independent candidate.

Sadiq Khan, Labour

image copyrightReuters

Served as MP for Tooting for 11 years before he was elected mayor of London in 2016.

David Kurten, Independent

image copyrightGetty Images

A former teacher who sits with the Brexit Alliance Group on the London Assembly.

Winston McKenzie, Unity In Action

image copyrightGetty Images

The 2016 Celebrity Big Brother contestant is founder and leader of the Unity In Action party.

Charlie Mullins, Independent

image copyrightGetty Images

The independent candidate is the founder and CEO of Pimlico Plumbers.

Nims Obunge, Independent

image copyrightGetty Images

A pastor who is chief executive of The Peace Alliance, which was set up to tackle knife crime.

Rosalind Readhead, Independent

image copyrightRosalind Readhead

An anti-car campaigner who is running as an independent candidate.

Mandu Reid, Women's Equality Party

image copyrightGeorge Torode

The leader of the Women's Equality Party has worked for all three of London's previous mayors on various projects.

Rory Stewart, Independent

image copyrightGetty Images

The former Conservative leader candidate, served as a Tory MP and minister but is running as an independent.

All candidates must submit their completed nomination papers by 16:00 BST on 1 April to stand in the election.

Related Topics

More on this story

  • London mayoral race: Green candidate calls for rent freeze

  • Drillminister: Why I'm running for London Mayor