Election results 2017: Strong wins for Labour in London

image copyrightReuters
image captionEmily Thornberry was among those who significantly increased their share of the vote

Labour has had strong election wins in London, gaining four seats from the Conservatives and increasing majorities elsewhere in the capital.

On Friday night, Labour took Kensington and Chelsea by just 20 votes following a third recount.

The party had earlier won Battersea, Croydon Central and Enfield Southgate.

The Liberal Democrats also had a resurgence in south west London with Sir Vince Cable and Sir Ed Davey both returning to parliament.

The Tories have managed to win 21 seats.

image copyrightPA
image captionIt took a third recount in Kensington and Chelsea to get the final result on Friday evening

Labour's Emma Dent Coad's victory in Kensington was the final result to be returned in the 2017 General Election.

She beat Tory incumbent Victoria Borwick, the city's former deputy mayor, who had a 7,000 majority in the 2015 election.

media captionAfter almost 24 hours the result is announced in Kensington

Justine Greening was one of the Conservatives to be returned to Parliament, although her majority was vastly reduced from more than 10,000 to about 1,500.

Zac Goldsmith won Richmond Park back from Lib Dem Sarah Olney with a majority of only 45.

image captionJustine Greening held her seat in Putney
image copyrightGetty Images
image captionThere was increased security at many of the counts

Labour was already dominant in London, having won 45 seats in 2015, compared with 27 for the Conservatives and one for the Lib Dems.

Marsha De Cordova defeated former junior minister Jane Ellison in Battersea, while Tory housing minister Gavin Barwell lost his seat to Labour's Sarah Jones.

Bambos Charalambous defeated David Burrowes in Enfield Southgate by 4,355 votes.

media captionLabour leader Jeremy Corbyn: "I'm very, very proud of the campaign my party has run"

Labour also won comfortable majorities in marginal seats such as Ealing Central and Acton, with Rupa Huq increasing her majority from 274 in 2015 to nearly 14,000.

Dr Rosena Allin-Khan, who took over Mayor of London Sadiq Khan's former seat in Tooting, also increased her majority from 5.3% to 26.6%.

During her victory speech, the A&E doctor said the result was "a clear message to Theresa May" as Labour gained 48 seats across the capital.

image copyrightPA
image captionSir Vince Cable won Twickenham by almost 10,000 votes
image captionAfter four recounts, Zac Goldsmith won Richmond Park back from Sarah Olney

The Lib Dems saw Sir Vince Cable defeat Conservative Tania Mathias to regain his Twickenham seat.

Sir Ed Davey also took Kingston and Surbiton from the Tories, while fellow Lib Dem Tom Brake managed to hold on to Carshalton and Wallington with a 2.7% majority.

However, Simon Hughes' attempt to return in Bermondsey and Old Southwark ended in failure as Labour's Neil Coyle retained the seat.

image copyrightGetty Images
image captionAlexandra Palace was one of the places where counts took place

More on this story