Tower Hamlets election: voters go to the polls

Tower Hamlets Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption Voters in Tower Hamlets go to the polls on Thursday

Voters in Tower Hamlets are going to the polls to vote for a new mayor.

The election was called after mayor Lutfur Rahman was convicted of electoral fraud and removed from office in April.

He has been banned from standing again.

The Met Police said it was investigating 16 allegations of electoral malpractice in relation to this election, including harvesting votes and the improper distribution of election literature.

The full list of Tower Hamlets mayoral candidates is:

  • Elaine Bagshaw, Liberal Democrats
  • John Biggs, Labour Party
  • Andy Erlam, Red Flag - Anti Corruption
  • John Foster, Green Party
  • Peter Golds, Conservative Party
  • Vanessa Helen Hudson, Animal Welfare Party
  • Hafiz Abdul Kadir, Independent
  • Rabina Khan, Independent
  • Nicholas McQueen, UKIP
  • Md. Motiur Rahman Nanu, Independent

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites