Footballers take over London Underground map

image captionThe Tube map marks the joint 150th anniversaries of the FA and London Underground

Mind the gap at Geoff Hurst and head eastbound on platform one for Billy Bremner.

The Football Association and London Underground have teamed up to create a reworked Tube map to mark their joint 150th anniversaries.

All 367 Tube, Docklands Light Railway and Overground stations have been named after footballers and officials.

Wembley Park has become Alf Ramsey, Upton Park is renamed Bobby Moore and Leytonstone is now David Beckham.

Each of the 14 lines also holds a special significance.

The Docklands Light Railway adopts names of pre-war players such as Eddie Hapgood and Dixie Dean along its route, while the Victoria line features notable names from the women's game, including Kelly Smith, Faye White and Hope Powell.

'Iconic map'

Michael Owen, FA150 ambassador and former England international, said: "I think the football-themed Tube map is a great way to celebrate the 150th anniversary of both the London Underground and the Football Association.

"I am absolutely delighted to be included at Oxford Circus."

The Football Association (FA) was formed on 26 October 1863 at the Freemasons' Tavern, now the Grand Connaught Rooms, near Holborn Tube.

FA general secretary Alex Horne said: "Over the last 150 years, millions of football fans will have made journeys to and from matches using the London Underground.

"Creating this special version of such an iconic map is a fitting way for The FA and London Underground to mark its shared 150th anniversaries."

More on this story

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.