London mayoral election 2012: Registration date looms

Residents wanting to vote in the London mayoral election have until Wednesday to register.

Anyone aged over 18 who is a London resident and a British citizen or an Irish, EU or qualifying Commonwealth citizen, can vote.

People can register either by contacting their local electoral registration office or print off a form from the About My Vote website .

In total, seven candidates are standing for election on 3 May.

They are: Siobhan Benita (Independent), Carlos Cortiglia (BNP), Boris Johnson (Conservative), Jenny Jones (Green), Ken Livingstone (Labour), Brian Paddick (Lib Dem) and Lawrence Webb (UKIP).

The deadline for applying for a proxy vote, except in medical emergencies, is 25 April.

London's mayor is responsible for London's transport, planning and development, culture and the environment. The mayor is also directly accountable for policing performance in London.

He or she also sets the budgets for the Greater London Authority, the Metropolitan Police, London Fire Brigade and Transport for London.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites