Wakefield by-election: Polls open

  • Published
Polling station signImage source, PA Media
Image caption,
Registered voters will be able to cast their ballots between 07:00 and 22:00 BST on Thursday 23 June

Polling stations have opened in Wakefield in a by-election to vote for the constituency's next MP.

The election was called after the former Conservative MP Imran Ahmad Khan was jailed in May following his conviction for sexual assault.

Polls are open across Wakefield from 07:00 BST until 22:00 BST on Thursday.

Counting will take place in the constituency overnight and the result of the election is expected in the early hours of 24 June.

Follow BBC Yorkshire on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Send your story ideas to yorkslincs.news@bbc.co.uk.

Related Topics