BBC Radio Derby wins Sony Station of the Year award

Sandra Chambers, Gary Andrews, Simon Cornes, Phil Trow and Tessa Sanderson - BBC Radio Derby collects the Sony Station of the Year award 2011
Image caption The Station of the Year award was presented by six- times Olympian Tessa Sanderson

BBC Radio Derby has again been named Station of the Year at the Sony Radio awards.

It is the third time the station has received the honour - it was also Station of the Year in 2007 and 2010.

The accolade was handed to editor Simon Cornes at a ceremony in London on Monday night.

The judges said: "The station delivered relevant, professional and consistent output handling an exceptionally rich seam of local stories."

They added: "Not afraid to get stuck into issues that effect the local community and make a difference, the station used strong actuality to support its journalism, giving a confident sense of identity."

'Talented team'

Accepting the award, Mr Cornes said: "This past weekend, we opened our doors to our listeners so they could help us mark 40 years since Radio Derby first went on air - birthday presents don't come much better than this.

"It's been a great honour for me to step up on this stage on three occasions in the past five years to receive this award on behalf of an extraordinarily talented team who give their all day in, day out."

BBC Radio Derby was in a shortlist of three with BBC Radio Somerset and BBC Radio Cumbria.

Former Rams captain and BBC Radio 5 Live presenter Robbie Savage took the Sony DAB Rising Star Award, the night's only people's choice award.

Other award winners included BBC Radio 5 Live's Danny Baker and Victoria Derbyshire, BBC Radio 2's Jeremy Vine and Absolute Radio's Frank Skinner.

There were special awards for Annie Nightingale and BBC Radio 4's Jenni Murray.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites