New Year Honours: Cornwall workers recognised

MBE medal. Pic: PA
Image caption Cornish author E.V. Thompson is among those recognised in the Queen's New Year Honours list

Community volunteers and an ex-head teacher are among those in Cornwall who have been recognised in the New Year Honours list for their work.

William Mann, a head teacher in Cornwall for 25 years, has been made an OBE for services to education.

Cornish author E V Thompson is appointed MBE for services to literature and to the community.

Brian Toney has been appointed MBE for services to his community in the village of Gweek.

He described the appointment as "absolutely brilliant."

"I keep myself busy but I get a lot of support," he said.

"I have started running my own panto group, local youth club, and we recently set up the Gweek local events team."

Mr Toney is also involved in teaching local children to swim.

Mr Thompson, who has written about 40 published novels, said he was surprised and delighted with his MBE honour.

'Enjoyed everything'

"I have happily found myself involved more and more with life in Cornwall," he told BBC News.

"I am a Bard of the Cornish Gorsedd, and I have been involved with the Daphne du Maurier Festival.

"It's something that has built up. Nothing has ever been a chore and I have enjoyed everything I have done."

Mr Mann, who recently retired as head teacher of St Hilary School in Penzance, said: "I couldn't believe it when I opened the letter.

"I have never really contemplated it, but I am really proud."

Andrew Brown from Launceston, who was formerly the director general of the Advertising Association, has become a CBE for services to the advertising industry.

Six other people in the county have been appointed MBE:

  • Richard Williams of Poldark Mine, for services to relationships between the UK and Mexico.
  • Kenneth Bowden, for services to the community in Camborne-Redruth and Cornwall.
  • Mary Irene Butler, for services to the community in Launceston, Cornwall.
  • Robert Hughes Gaskin, for services to the voluntary sector in Cornwall.
  • Helen Jenny, for services to Dartmoor National Park and to young people in Devon and Cornwall.
  • Margaret Ellen Winser, chair of the board of governors, Truro and Penwith College, for services to further and higher education.