Graeme Swann wins BBC East Midlands Sports Awards 2011

Graeme Swann
Image caption Swann was also nominated for the Personality of the Year Award in 2010

Nottinghamshire and England cricketer Graeme Swann has been named Personality of the Year at the BBC East Midlands Sports Awards 2011.

The Ashes winner beat team-mate Stuart Broad and Mansfield swimmer Rebecca Adlington.

Swann, one of the world's best bowlers in Test and one-day cricket, is also seen as one of the game's most engaging personalities.

The off-spinner was an integral part of the England team which thrashed Australia last winter and his video diary of the tour won praise for its cheeky humour.

The Team of the Year Award went to Nottingham Panthers, while manager of Notts County Martin Allen collected the award for Football Achievement of the Year.

Allen said at the ceremony: "I wasn't expecting it at all... we deserved it, all of us."

For another year, world record holding double-amputee marathon runner Richard Whitehead from West Bridgford, Nottingham, was named Disabled Sports Personality of the Year.

The Coach of the Year Award went to the performance director of British Cycling, Dave Brailsford from Derby.

Leicester City legend Alan Birchenall, who also played for Notts County and Chelsea, won the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Gym owner Steve Pateman was recognised for his unselfish and hard-working commitment to sport in Derby, collecting the Unsung Hero Award.

He said he was "very pleased", adding: "Most importantly the youngsters who come to the gym will be best pleased, they'll be ecstatic - and if it puts a smile on their faces, then I'm pleased."

Leicestershire cyclist Lucy Garner was named Junior Sportsperson of the Year, and the Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year Award went to Derbyshire's wheelchair basketball player Maddie Thompson.

Derby County's Mark O'Brien beat off competition from Alex Hales of Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club and Leicester Tigers and England rugby player Manu Tuilagi to collect the Brian Clough Breakthrough Award.

The Judges' Special Award was given to Lee Penfold from Hinckley, Leicestershire. The basketball player was an ambassador for the Special Olympics National Summer Games in Leicester in 2009.

More on this story

Around the BBC