BBC East Midlands Sports Awards: Nominations announced

BBC East Midlands Sports Awards 2011 contenders (left to right): Cricketer Graeme Swann, swimmer Rebecca Adlington and cricketer Stuart Broad
Image caption The BBC East Midlands Sports Awards 2011 will be held on 17 November

Two of Nottinghamshire's Ashes winning cricketers have been shortlisted for the BBC East Midlands Sports Personality of 2011 award.

Graeme Swann and Stuart Broad have been named alongside Mansfield swimmer Rebecca Adlington on the shortlist for the trophy.

Nominations for eight awards have been revealed - each recognising sporting achievement in the region.

The winners will be announced at an event at Loughborough University on 17 November.

The BBC asked for members of the public to suggest sportsmen and women to be considered for awards, including Team of the Year and Coach of the Year, in September.

A judging panel made up of former sportsmen and regional sports journalists shortlisted three people in each category.

Below are details of the award categories and full list of nominations.

Award categories

Sports Personality of the Year

Rebecca Adlington - Swimming

Stuart Broad - Cricket

Graeme Swann - Cricket

Disabled Sports Personality of the Year

Dan Greaves - Athletics

Sam Hynd - Swimming

Richard Whitehead - Athletics

Coach of the Year

Dave Brailsford - Cycling

Bill Furniss - Swimming

Graham Griffiths - Hockey

Team of the Year

Beeston Men's Hockey Club

Leicestershire Foxes (Cricket)

Nottingham Panthers (Ice hockey)

Junior Sportsperson of the Year

Lucy Garner - Cycling

Molly Renshaw - Swimming

Kyle Ryde - Motor sport

Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Oliver Hynd - Swimming

Jacob Parker - Swimming

Maddie Thompson - Wheelchair basketball

Football Achievement of the Year

Alfreton Town Football Club

Martin Allen - Notts County

Mark O'Brien - Derby County

Brian Clough Award

Mark O'Brian - Derby County FC

Alex Hales - Notts County Cricket Club

Manu Tuilagi - Leicester Tigers

More on this story