Tower Hamlets London Borough Council

All of the seats in Tower Hamlets were up for election this year. Find out more about these elections.

Election 2018 Results

Party Elected in 2018 Total councillors Change


Elected in 2018 42 Total councillors 42 Change+20


Elected in 2018 2 Total councillors 2 Change-3


Elected in 2018 1 Total councillors 1 Change-17
Councillors change compared with 2014

Most Recent

Man charged with murder after Tower Hamlets stabbing

A man has been charged with murder after a man was found stabbed to death at a property in east London.

Jairo Sepulveda-Garcia, 36, a Spanish national, of no fixed abode, has been charged with the murder of 38-year-old David Lopez-Fernandez, a Spanish national, at an address in Globe Road, Tower Hamlets.

Sepulveda-Garcia is due to appear at Thames Magistrates' Court later.

An investigation was launched after police were called to an address in Globe Road, E1 on Monday.

A man was found suffering stab wounds; London Ambulance Service attended and he was pronounced dead at the scene.

Next of kin have been informed.

Appeal after unprovoked assault on couple on bus in Tower Hamlets

Suspect CCTV
Met Police

Detectives investigating an unprovoked attack on a married couple travelling on a bus in Tower Hamlets have released CCTV images of a person they wish to speak to. At around 19:30 on 7 October, the suspect boarded the route 108 bus at Tunnel Avenue, Tower Hamlets, and sat towards the front of the bus. The victims – a man and woman, both 28-years-old - were already sat on the bus towards the back. Whilst waiting for the bus to come to a stop, the suspect approached the female victim and, completely unprovoked, punched her several times. The male victim then tried to intervene, at which point the suspect attacked him too. The suspect used the emergency stop button to open the bus doors, and he made off towards Cotton Street. The woman was left with a fractured skull, and the man sustained swelling and bruising to the face. The suspect is described as a black male with short black hair and no facial hair, around 25-years-old and approximately 5ft 10ins tall.

At the time of the offence, he was wearing a black jacket and trousers.

Are new phone kiosks the latest tool for drug dealers?

BT announced in 2017 that it was replacing phone booths with high-tech InLinkUK kiosks that come with ultra-fast 1Gbps Wi-Fi hotspots, a touchscreen offering information and directions, free UK landline and mobile phone calls, and two USB smartphone charging ports.

Over 750 InLinkUK kiosks were due to be installed in London and other cities across the UK.

But one London council now raised concerns that these kiosks are being used to carry out drug deals.