Patrick McLoughlin

Brexit delay: How did your MP vote?

Gavin Bevis

BBC News

MPs last night voted to ask the EU to delay Brexit beyond the current 29 March departure date.

The government motion passed by 413 to 202 with backing from East Midlands MPs Sir Patrick McLoughlin, Sir Alan Duncan, Anna Soubry, John Mann, Dennis Skinner, Ruth George, Nicky Morgan, Ken Clarke, Alberto Costa, Edward Argar, Chris Leslie, Lilian Greenwood, Margaret Beckett, Toby Perkins and Keith Vaz.

House of Commons vote

MPs from our region who voted against the motion included Nigel Mills, Andrew Bridgen, Heather Wheeler, Mark Spencer, Pauline Latham, Maggie Throup, Ben Bradley, Lee Rowley and Robert Jenrick.

You can check how your MP voted on this page.

Did your MP vote to rule out no-deal Brexit?

Gavin Bevis

BBC News

It was another dramatic night in the House of Commons last night as MPs voted to reject a no-deal Brexit under any circumstances.

East Midlands MPs voting in favour of ruling it out included Dennis Skinner, Liz Kendall, Anna Soubry, Ruth George, Chris Williamson, Margaret Beckett, Keith Vaz, Chris Leslie, Lilian Greenwood and Ken Clarke.

Brexit vote

MPs from our region who voted against the motion included Patrick McLoughlin, Nicky Morgan, Sir Alan Duncan, Edward Argar, Nigel Mills, Andrew Bridgen, Pauline Latham, Maggie Throup, Ben Bradley, Robert Jenrick, Mark Spencer and Lee Rowley.

You can see how your MP voted on this page.

Tonight MPs will regroup to vote on whether to ask the EU for permission to delay Brexit.

East Midlands MPs pledge support for prime minister

Gavin Bevis

BBC News

Patrick McLoughlin (Derbyshire Dales), Anna Soubry (Broxtowe) and Sir Alan Duncan (Rutland and Melton) are among several Conservative MPs who have said they will back the prime minister in tonight's no confidence vote.

North West Leicestershire MP Andrew Bridgen told BBC Radio Leicester he's one of those who put in a letter calling for Theresa May's resignation.

Theresa May

MP backs 'limited' house building in Peak District

Calum McKenzie

BBC News

Sir Patrick McLoughin has called for an end to the exemptions on housebuilding in areas like the Peak District.

A panoramic view of the Peak District
Christopher Furlong/Getty Images

The chancellor announced in November plans to build 300,000 new homes each year to increase housing supply.

Sir Patrick, Derbyshire Dales MP, said: "They [national parks] are excluded from any of the government's housing targets.

"This is meaning that house prices are ever increasing in those areas."

He added that there should be "limited development" in every village.

Environment minister Therese Coffey said any building of homes would have to be balanced with the protection of the country's "most beautiful landscapes".

MP congratulates Prince Harry and Meghan Markle

Calum McKenzie

BBC Local Live

Derbyshire Dales MP Patrick McLoughlin tweets...

View more on twitter

...the couple will be getting married in spring 2018, Clarence House announced earlier.