Language Switcher

  1. Wales
  2. Cymru

Wales Results

Welsh Assembly Results
Party Welsh Labour Plaid Cymru Welsh Conservative UKIP Wales Welsh Liberal Democrat
Seats 29 12 11 7 1
Change −1 +1 −3 +7 −4

After 60 of 60 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Labour win 29 seats - but fall short of a majority
  2. UKIP wins its first seats in the Assembly
  3. Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood ousts Labour in Rhondda
  4. Mapping the election - see party vote share by constituency across Wales


Welsh Assembly constituency Region - South Wales West
Result: LAB HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Welsh Labour

Candidates Huw Irranca-Davies Votes 12,895 55.2% Net percentage change in seats −8.7


Plaid Cymru

Candidates Tim Thomas Votes 3,427 14.7% Net percentage change in seats −2.0


UKIP Wales

Candidates Elizabeth Kendall Votes 3,233 13.8% Net percentage change in seats +13.8


Welsh Conservative

Candidates Jamie Wallis Votes 2,587 11.1% Net percentage change in seats −3.5


Welsh Liberal Democrat

Candidates Anita Davies Votes 698 3.0% Net percentage change in seats −1.9


Wales Green Party

Candidates Laurie Brophy Votes 516 2.2% Net percentage change in seats +2.2

Turnout and Majority

Welsh Labour Majority




Vote share

Party %
Welsh Labour 55.2
Plaid Cymru 14.7
UKIP Wales 13.8
Welsh Conservative 11.1
Welsh Liberal Democrat 3.0

Vote share change since 2011

UKIP Wales
Welsh Liberal Democrat
Plaid Cymru
Welsh Conservative
Welsh Labour

Constituency Profile

The constituency is located primarily to the north of the M4 motorway in south Wales.

Maesteg is the largest town in the Ogmore constituency, which also takes in parts of both the Bridgend County Borough and Rhondda Cynon Taf. Australian songstress Kylie Minogue has links to the constituency through her mother and grandmother who were both born in Maesteg. 25% of primary school pupils here are entitled to free school meals compared to 20% across Wales. The constituency sits in the Assembly region of South Wales West. Labour's Janice Gregory has held this seat since the first Assembly election in 1999. In 2011 she held the seat with 63.9%. Plaid Cymru came second 16.7% of the vote, the Conservatives were third with 14.5% and the Liberal Democrats came fourth with 4.9% of the vote.

Back to top