Language Switcher

  1. Wales
  2. Cymru

Wales Results

Welsh Assembly Results
Party Welsh Labour Plaid Cymru Welsh Conservative UKIP Wales Welsh Liberal Democrat
Seats 29 12 11 7 1
Change −1 +1 −3 +7 −4

After 60 of 60 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Labour win 29 seats - but fall short of a majority
  2. UKIP wins its first seats in the Assembly
  3. Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood ousts Labour in Rhondda
  4. Mapping the election - see party vote share by constituency across Wales

Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney

Welsh Assembly constituency Region - South Wales East
Result: LAB HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Welsh Labour

Candidates Dawn Bowden Votes 9,763 47.2% Net percentage change in seats −7.1


UKIP Wales

Candidates David Rowlands Votes 4,277 20.7% Net percentage change in seats +20.7


Plaid Cymru

Candidates Brian Thomas Votes 3,721 18.0% Net percentage change in seats +9.2


Welsh Conservative

Candidates Elizabeth Simon Votes 1,331 6.4% Net percentage change in seats +0.1


Welsh Liberal Democrat

Candidates Bob Griffin Votes 1,122 5.4% Net percentage change in seats −7.4


Wales Green Party

Candidates Julie Colbran Votes 469 2.3% Net percentage change in seats +2.3

Turnout and Majority

Welsh Labour Majority




Vote share

Party %
Welsh Labour 47.2
UKIP Wales 20.7
Plaid Cymru 18.0
Welsh Conservative 6.4
Welsh Liberal Democrat 5.4

Vote share change since 2011

UKIP Wales
Plaid Cymru
Welsh Conservative
Welsh Labour
Welsh Liberal Democrat

Constituency Profile

The constituency of Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney has a rich history as one of the birth places of the industrial revolution but has struggled economically in modern times.

The average house prices in the constituency are among the lowest in Wales at £100,000 - the Welsh average is £158,000. The mean gross weekly earnings figure for Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney is £499 - the fourth lowest in Wales. The all Wales figure is £551. Around 600 staff are employed in the Welsh Government office based in the constituency. The main town is Merthyr Tydfil which has a population of around 60,000. Labour has held the seat in the National Assembly since 1999 with Huw Lewis winning the seat four times in that period - with an increased majority of over 7,000 in the 2011 Assembly election. Mr Lewis is standing down at this election.

In 2011 Labour won 54.3% of the vote, ahead of an Independent candidate (17.8%), Liberal Democrats (12.8%), Plaid Cymru (8.8%) and Conservatives (6.3%).

Back to top