Language Switcher

  1. Wales
  2. Cymru

Wales Results

Welsh Assembly Results
Party Welsh Labour Plaid Cymru Welsh Conservative UKIP Wales Welsh Liberal Democrat
Seats 29 12 11 7 1
Change −1 +1 −3 +7 −4

After 60 of 60 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Labour win 29 seats - but fall short of a majority
  2. UKIP wins its first seats in the Assembly
  3. Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood ousts Labour in Rhondda
  4. Mapping the election - see party vote share by constituency across Wales


Welsh Assembly constituency Region - South Wales East
Result: LAB HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Welsh Labour

Candidates Lynne Neagle Votes 9,688 42.2% Net percentage change in seats −4.0


UKIP Wales

Candidates Susan Boucher Votes 5,190 22.6% Net percentage change in seats +22.6


Welsh Conservative

Candidates Graham Smith Votes 3,931 17.1% Net percentage change in seats +2.3


Plaid Cymru

Candidates Matthew Woolfall-Jones Votes 2,860 12.4% Net percentage change in seats +0.3


Wales Green Party

Candidates Steven Jenkins Votes 681 3.0% Net percentage change in seats +3.0


Welsh Liberal Democrat

Candidates Alison Willott Votes 628 2.7% Net percentage change in seats −1.1

Turnout and Majority

Welsh Labour Majority




Vote share

Party %
Welsh Labour 42.2
UKIP Wales 22.6
Welsh Conservative 17.1
Plaid Cymru 12.4
Wales Green Party 3.0

Vote share change since 2011

UKIP Wales
Wales Green Party
Welsh Conservative
Plaid Cymru
Welsh Labour

Constituency Profile

Torfaen is bordered by the county of Monmouthshire to the east and the city of Newport to the south.

Much of the southern part of the county borough around the Cwmbrân conurbation is now urbanised. The north of the county borough is greener and retains extensive areas of countryside, and includes the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Blaenavon. The local council has sought to build the town as a tourist attraction. A total of 7.1% of people were unemployed in Torfaen between October 2014 and September 2015, compared to 5.5% across the UK. Torfaen is historically a safe Labour Party seat. It has been held by Lynne Neagle since 1999.

In 2011, Ms Neagle was elected with 46% of the vote, compared to 18% for an independent candidate, 14% for the Conservatives and 12% for Plaid Cymru.

Back to top