Language Switcher

  1. Wales
  2. Cymru

Wales Results

Welsh Assembly Results
Party Welsh Labour Plaid Cymru Welsh Conservative UKIP Wales Welsh Liberal Democrat
Seats 29 12 11 7 1
Change −1 +1 −3 +7 −4

After 60 of 60 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Labour win 29 seats - but fall short of a majority
  2. UKIP wins its first seats in the Assembly
  3. Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood ousts Labour in Rhondda
  4. Mapping the election - see party vote share by constituency across Wales


Welsh Assembly constituency Region - South Wales East
Result: LAB HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Welsh Labour

Candidates Rhianon Passmore Votes 10,050 45.0% Net percentage change in seats −12.9


UKIP Wales

Candidates Joe Smyth Votes 4,944 22.2% Net percentage change in seats +22.2


Plaid Cymru

Candidates Lyn Ackerman Votes 4,349 19.5% Net percentage change in seats −2.2


Welsh Conservative

Candidates Paul Williams Votes 1,775 8.0% Net percentage change in seats −4.0


Welsh Liberal Democrat

Candidates Matthew Kidner Votes 597 2.7% Net percentage change in seats −0.4


Wales Green Party

Candidates Katy Beddoe Votes 594 2.7% Net percentage change in seats +2.7

Turnout and Majority

Welsh Labour Majority




Vote share

Party %
Welsh Labour 45.0
UKIP Wales 22.2
Plaid Cymru 19.5
Welsh Conservative 8.0
Welsh Liberal Democrat 2.7

Vote share change since 2011

UKIP Wales
Welsh Liberal Democrat
Plaid Cymru
Welsh Conservative
Welsh Labour

Constituency Profile

Situated in the Gwent Valleys, Islwyn is a former coal-mining area.

There is also a strong rugby tradition built on clubs such as Newbridge and Cross Keys. The band Manic Street Preachers was formed at a school in Blackwood in 1986. At 2.1%, the percentage of Islwyn's population born outside the UK is the joint lowest in Wales. The percentage of Islwyn residents claiming out-of-work benefits (14%) is higher than the Welsh average (12%). Plaid Cymru caused a major upset when the party won the traditionally safe Labour seat in the first Assembly election. Labour has won the seat in subsequent Assembly polls and will be defending a majority of 7,589 votes in 2016.

In 2011, Labour's Gwyn Price, who is standing down, polled 57.9% of the vote, ahead of Plaid Cymru on 21.7%, Conservatives on 11.9%, the BNP on 5.3%, and the Liberal Democrats on 3.1%.

Back to top