Language Switcher

  1. Wales
  2. Cymru

Wales Results

Welsh Assembly Results
Party Welsh Labour Plaid Cymru Welsh Conservative UKIP Wales Welsh Liberal Democrat
Seats 29 12 11 7 1
Change −1 +1 −3 +7 −4

After 60 of 60 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Labour win 29 seats - but fall short of a majority
  2. UKIP wins its first seats in the Assembly
  3. Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood ousts Labour in Rhondda
  4. Mapping the election - see party vote share by constituency across Wales
Result: PC HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Plaid Cymru

Candidates Adam Price Votes 14,427 48.5% Net percentage change in seats +3.6


Welsh Labour

Candidates Stephen Jeacock Votes 5,727 19.2% Net percentage change in seats −10.8


Welsh Conservative

Candidates Matthew Paul Votes 4,489 15.1% Net percentage change in seats −5.2


UKIP Wales

Candidates Neil Hamilton Votes 3,474 11.7% Net percentage change in seats +11.7


Welsh Liberal Democrat

Candidates William Powell Votes 837 2.8% Net percentage change in seats −2.0


Wales Green Party

Candidates Freya Amsbury Votes 797 2.7% Net percentage change in seats +2.7

Turnout and Majority

Plaid Cymru Majority




Vote share

Party %
Plaid Cymru 48.5
Welsh Labour 19.2
Welsh Conservative 15.1
UKIP Wales 11.7
Welsh Liberal Democrat 2.8

Vote share change since 2011

UKIP Wales
Plaid Cymru
Welsh Liberal Democrat
Welsh Conservative
Welsh Labour

Latest updates

"The political map of Wales has changed enormously"

Felicity Evans

BBC Wales political editor

The political map of Wales has changed enormously. Aside from the single seat of Alyn & Deeside, Labour has been vanquished from north Wales.

The Conservatives are celebrating a return to their high watermark of 1983 when they held 14 seats in Wales, Boris Johnson’s Brexit message resonated among Welsh Labour leave voters.

But many Welsh Labour sources say Jeremy Corbyn was a major factor in turning off the party’s traditional supporters.

They will also question the approach of their Welsh leader Mark Drakeford.

Should he have done more to “Welshify” this election and distinguish Welsh Labour from the UK party? Was that even achievable given the dominance of the two characters of Mr Corbyn and Mr Johnson?

The Liberal Democrats will rue the day they pushed for this election – their hubris has been mercilessly punished.

And Plaid will breathe a big sigh of relief that they hung on to two ultra marginals, and were let off the hook by a split leave vote in Carmarthen East. Coming third in their target seat of Ynys Mon is a blow that leaves them at the status quo of 4 seats.

Plaid Cymru holds Carmarthen East and Dinefwr

Adam Price

Watch this space

Visit this page for the latest updates, articles and videos about this constituency in the run-up to the Welsh Assembly Election, and for results from 10pm on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Welsh Parliament

Constituency Profile

Carmarthen East and Dinefwr is one of five constituencies in the old county of Dyfed.

The seat consists of four valleys: the Teifi and Tywi to the north, where agriculture remains a major industry; and the post-industrial Gwendraeth and Amman valleys to the south. The Prince of Wales's Welsh home, Llwynywermod, is near the village of Myddfai, Llandovery. According to the 2011 census it is the constituency with the highest percentage of Welsh speakers, 55%. Plaid Cymru have held the seat since 1999 but there will be a new Assembly member in 2016 as Rhodri Glyn Thomas is standing down after representing the constituency for 17 years. Two former MP's are standing in 2016, the former Conservative minister Neil Hamilton for UKIP and and Adam Price for Plaid Cymru.

Back to top