Language Switcher

  1. Wales
  2. Cymru

Wales Results

Welsh Assembly Results
Party Welsh Labour Plaid Cymru Welsh Conservative UKIP Wales Welsh Liberal Democrat
Seats 29 12 11 7 1
Change −1 +1 −3 +7 −4

After 60 of 60 seats About these resultsResults in full

Latest headlines

  1. Labour win 29 seats - but fall short of a majority
  2. UKIP wins its first seats in the Assembly
  3. Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood ousts Labour in Rhondda
  4. Mapping the election - see party vote share by constituency across Wales


Welsh Assembly constituency Region - Mid and West Wales
Result: PC HOLD


Party Candidates Votes % Net percentage change in seats


Plaid Cymru

Candidates Elin Jones Votes 12,014 40.7% Net percentage change in seats −0.6


Welsh Liberal Democrat

Candidates Elizabeth Evans Votes 9,606 32.6% Net percentage change in seats −2.6


UKIP Wales

Candidates Gethin James Votes 2,665 9.0% Net percentage change in seats +9.0


Welsh Conservative

Candidates Felix Aubel Votes 2,075 7.0% Net percentage change in seats −2.4


Welsh Labour

Candidates Iwan Wyn Jones Votes 1,902 6.5% Net percentage change in seats −2.3


Wales Green Party

Candidates Brian Dafydd Williams Votes 1,223 4.1% Net percentage change in seats −1.1

Turnout and Majority

Plaid Cymru Majority




Vote share

Party %
Plaid Cymru 40.7
Welsh Liberal Democrat 32.6
UKIP Wales 9.0
Welsh Conservative 7.0
Welsh Labour 6.5

Vote share change since 2011

UKIP Wales
Plaid Cymru
Welsh Labour
Welsh Conservative
Welsh Liberal Democrat

Constituency Profile

The constituency contains two traditional university towns - Aberystwyth in the north and Lampeter, inland and to the south.

Aberystwyth, the biggest town in the constituency, is home to the National Library of Wales, founded in 1907. Gross full-time earnings for residents of Ceredigion is £516 a week compared to a Wales average of £551. People who live in the constituency can expect to live to 80.5 compared to a Wales-wide life expectancy of 78.5. At a Parliamentary level Ceredigion has been a bastion of liberalism, but it was held by Labour from 1966 to 1974 and by Plaid Cymru from 1992 and 2005. Since then it has been held by the Lib Dems' Mark Williams, currently the only MP for the party in Wales. At an Assembly level, however, Plaid has held the seat since 1999 - and at the 2011 election Elin Jones held the seat with 41% of the vote. The Liberal Democrats were second with 35%.

Back to top